The Sun is Also a Star

“The Sun is Also a Star” by Nicola Yoon is not typically a book I would read. Besides its nice cover, I would have set down this book right away after reading its description. But since I read the author’s amazing book “Everything, Everything,” I thought I’d give this a try. And that was a mistake.

This book follows the story of Natasha, a senior in high school who is about to be deported to Jamaica, and Daniel, an Asian-American with very strict parents. As Natasha is running around New York trying to fix her father’s mistakes and reverse their deportation, Daniel basically follows her around even though he has his own things to do.

Daniel’s immediate obsession with Natasha is what initially threw me off. He just met this girl and now he’s pretty much already in love. And of course when she basically turns him down, he keeps bothering her about it. He tells her that she’s going to fall in love with him, and while she tells him she won’t, we all know that she will. It’s the most predictable thing ever. (I might have actually enjoyed the book a lot more if she wouldn’t have fallen for him?) At this point, it was pretty obvious to me that I do not care whether or not these two people get together at the end. I was not able to connect enough with either character to actually like them or care what happens to them.

My main problem with this book was that the whole thing took place in just one day. One day. One day and they were already obsessed with each other. I’m still having trouble processing that fact. It bothered me so much that I could not look past it. And so in the end, I feel as if I completely wasted my time reading this book.

Rating ★★✩✩✩

Cinful Reviews

Leave a Reply

