The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily

To start off the year, I read “The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily” by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. For those who don’t know, this is the sequel to “Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares” (which was great and I totally recommend).

I actually started this series just because of the cover. I had a very vague idea about what the plot was, but I was mostly just thinking that I needed to own the pretty Christmas book. This book, with its absolutely beautiful cover, disappointed me. I was expecting more of what I liked in the first book, but didn’t find it. Lily was overall very childish and naive throughout the entire book. Yes, this happened in the first book as well, but this time she just didn’t have enough redeeming qualities to make me care about her or her problems. I found the same problem with Dash, where I really just didn’t care about him.

Setting the disinterest in the characters aside, the plot also didn’t really interest me as much as the first did. A lot of it was very dull but its main redeeming quality was when it went back to the theme of the first book and they actually did things! Finally, after all that complaining about Lily “not being Lily” anymore, they finally did something. Dash’s plan to make her happy again was very adorable and made it a little more acceptable that Lily was so annoying.

Despite my lack of enthusiasm about this book, it wasn’t bad. My expectations were just way too high for it, almost setting it up for failure. I actually enjoyed reading this during the holiday season. I would definitely recommend these books to people looking for a Christmas themed book.

Rating: ★★★★✩  (okay..more like 3.5)

Cinful Reviews

Leave a Reply

